Our Structure


Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is composed of 12 representatives scientists and 11 representatives from member companies for a total of 23 board members. Four board members are elected by the Board of Directors to serve as the President, Vice President, Chairman, and Vice Chairman. Board members serve three-year terms and are eligible for reelection after their term ends.

The Board of Directors is responsible for:

  • Reviewing and developing ILSI Taiwan programs and activities.
  • Establishing, amending, and managing internal bylaws and affairs.
  • Reviewing and approving budgets and finances.
  • Raising, managing, and utilizing funds.
  • Approving membership applications.
  • Hosting elections for the Board of Supervisors and the Board of Directors.
  • Electing the President, the Vice President, the Chairman, and the Vice Chairman.
  • Approving board member, President, Vice President, Chairman, and/or Vice Chairman resignations.
  • Hiring the Executive Director and handling other human resource affairs.
  • Monitoring organization finances.
  • Other management matters.

ILSI Taiwan Board of Directors

Lu-Hung Chen, Ph.D. Coyea Lin
President Chairperson
Food Industry Research &
Development Institute (retired)
Prospect Hospitality Co., Ltd. Developmental Licensee of McDonald’s
Ting-Jang Lu, Ph.D. Tin-Chen Hsu, Ph.D.
Vice President  Vice Chairman
Graduate Institute of Food Science and Technology, National Taiwan University Chien Cheng Trading Co., Ltd.
Jenny Chang, Ph.D. Chin-Chu Chen, Ph.D.
International Life Sciences Grape King Inc.
Institute Taiwan (retired)
Hsiu-Ling Chen, Ph.D. Ching Yuan Cheng, Ph.D.
Department of Food Safety/ Uni-President Corporation
Hygiene and Risk Management,
National Cheng Kung University
Min-Ju Chen, Ph.D. Dora Hsiao
Department of Animal Science and Ajinomoto Taiwan Inc.
Technology, National Taiwan University
Ching-Jang Huang, Ph.D. Yu-Ting Lee
Department of Biochemical Science and King Car Group Company
Technology , National Taiwan University
Ching-Chang Lee, Ph.D. Alex Lin
Department of Environmental and Herbalife Taiwan Inc.,
Occupational Health, Taiwan Branch
National Cheng Kung University
Ming-Pei Ling, Ph.D. Steve Ma
Department of Food Science, Nutritec Enjoy Corporation
National Taiwan Ocean University
Ming-Hsiung Pan, Ph.D. Kevin Tsai
Graduate Institute of Food Science and Creation Food Co., Ltd.
Technology, National Taiwan University
Chen-Chang Yang, DrPH Chao-Ying Tseng
Institute of Environmental & Occupational Gemfont Corporation
Health Sciences, School of Medicine,
National Yang-Ming University
Fei-Li Lo Yang, Ph.D. David Wang
Department of Nutritional Sciences, Toong Yeuan Enterprise Co., Ltd.
Fu-Jen Catholic University
Gow-Chin Yen, Ph.D.
Department of Food Science and
Biotechnology, National Chung Hsing University


Board of Supervisors

The Board of Supervisors is composed of 4 scientists and 3 representatives from member companies for a total of 7 board members. One board member is elected from within the Board of Supervisors to serve as the Managing Supervisor. Board members serve for three-year terms and are eligible for reelection after their term ends.

The Board of Supervisors is responsible for:

  • Supervising the activities of the Board of Directors.
  • Supervising the activities and development of ILSI Taiwan.
  • Supervising spending and reviewing annual budget reports.
  • Electing the Managing Supervisor.
  • Approving board member and/or Managing Supervisor resignations.
  • Other supervisory matters.

ILSI Taiwan Board of Supervisors

Lucy Sun Huang, Ph.D. Pin-Tang Chang
Graduate Institute of Food Science and Chair
Technology, National Taiwan University Hey-Song Corporation
Frances Ma, Ph.D. Kuen-Ho Shih
Nutrition Society of Taiwan China Grain Products Research &
Development Institute
Bonnie Sun Pan, Ph.D. Ter-Fung Tsao, Ph.D.
Department of Food Science, Standard Foods Corporation
National Taiwan Ocean University
Jimmy Tsai, Ph.D.
Department of Bioscience Technology,
Chung Yuan Christian University

Scientific Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee is responsible for providing development strategies, implementation plans, and other academic expertise for ILSI Taiwan’s scientific programming. Given approval from the Board of Directors, the Scientific Advisory Committee may form additional task forces or working groups.

The committee is composed of a maximum of 15 experts appointed by the Board of Directors. One committee member is elected by the committee to serve as chair of the committee. Committee members serve for the same term duration as the overseeing Board of Directors. At the end of the board’s term, the new board may choose to reappoint committee members for an additional term.

Alex Teo, Director May Kan
Research & Development and Scientific Coca-Cola China Limited (Retired)
Affairs, Herbalife International for the
APAC, India and China regions
Chao-Yih Chen, Professor Sue-Joan Chang, PhD
The Department of Biological Science Examination Yuan of R.O.C.
and Technology, China University of
Science and Technology
Chih-Kang Chiang, Professor Wen Harn Pan, PhD
Graduate Institute of Toxicology, Institute of Biochemical Sciences,
NTU College of Medicine Academia Sinica
Chii-Cherng Liao, Director General Yao Wen Huang, PhD
Food Industry Research and National Taiwan Ocean University
Development Institute
Junshi Chen, PhD
China National Center for Food Safety
Risk Assessment

Executive Committee

Lu-Hung Chen, Ph.D.

Ting Jang Lu, Ph.D.
Vice President

Coyea Lin

Ting Chen Hsu, Ph.D.
Vice Chairman

Bonnie Chou, Ph.D.
Executive Director


Bonnie Chu, Ph.D.
Executive Director

Arlene Yang
Project Manager

Sharon Hsueh
Scientific Program Associate

Lainie Chen
Scientific Program Associate